Rythm and You - Knowing what you're doing

Cryptic Excretions
Attorney at Law
Cryptic Excretions
Attorney at Law
03/14/2004 10:39 pm
Ok, I often times play guitar (as that seems logical since I'm a guitarist) and I just sorta jam. Though I can hold I rythem quite well, at least to my knowledge (so I've been told) I can't say I know what the time signatures I'm playing in are. How do I know if I'm in 4/4 5/4 or what?
The Gods Made Heavy Metal, And They Saw That It Was Good
They Said To Play It Louder Than Hell, We Promised That We Would

Hulk Smash!!

Whatever you do, don't eat limes. A friend of mine ate a lime once and BAM!! Two years later. Herpes.
# 1
basics
basics
03/15/2004 3:46 am
To my knowledge, every time sig. has a different pulse. Typically in rock, the 1 is strongest. Just count it from the strongest pulse. Or no, get examples of tunes that have different time signatures and then use that to get accustomed to how they feel. From the top of my head 'Love or Confusion' by Hendrix is 3/4, any other song is 4/4, I can't think of a 5/4 tune.

Count after the ever constant cymbol crash on 1 (lol) ... One Two Three Four Five One Two etc.
# 2
noticingthemistake
Crime Fighter
noticingthemistake
Crime Fighter
03/17/2004 4:23 am
The original mission impossible theme is in 5/4. Hendrix's manic depression is in 9/8. If you like metal, listen to alittle meshuggah. They use crazy time sig's and rhythms. As for counting them, whatever rate your tap your foot to the tune. 1 is always on the beginning. the best way I think to get it is to get some actually sheet music, look at the time signature and music, and just listen to the music while looking at the score. It will click.
"My whole life is a dark room...ONE BIG DARK ROOM" - a.f.i.
# 3
chris mood
High Bandwidth
chris mood
High Bandwidth
03/17/2004 3:23 pm
Start simple, and get a solid grasp of 4/4 first. Counting and rhythm is very important.