Classical style - what learning path to take?

marcin.bartnicki
Full Access
marcin.bartnicki
Full Access
01/28/2024 7:08 pm

Hello, a new member here. Sorry if this question has been asked before, but I am completely new to guitar playing (just know to play piano / read notation) and I am interested in eventually playing a guitar classical style. My question is - what learning path should I take? Should I start with the general introductory course first or jump straight to the classical style lessons?

My question comes from the fact that many aspects of the classical style seem to differ from the basic style - like using fingers instead of a pick, the posture/holding the guitar etc. However, the classical style lessons are included in the expert section, and it seems that sometimes there are techniques referred there which I have no idea about. 

So which route is recommended? Thanks in advance! 

# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
01/29/2024 12:51 pm
#1 Originally Posted by: marcin.bartnicki

Hello, a new member here. Sorry if this question has been asked before, but I am completely new to guitar playing (just know to play piano / read notation) and I am interested in eventually playing a guitar classical style. My question is - what learning path should I take? Should I start with the general introductory course first or jump straight to the classical style lessons?

My question comes from the fact that many aspects of the classical style seem to differ from the basic style - like using fingers instead of a pick, the posture/holding the guitar etc. However, the classical style lessons are included in the expert section, and it seems that sometimes there are techniques referred there which I have no idea about. 

So which route is recommended? Thanks in advance!