New to GuitarTricks

Sweetjoe
Sweetjoe
06/17/2023 7:19 pm

Hey everyone, I'm Joe. 

I've been a professor of Theatre design for over 30 years and have always wanted to learn guitar. So...I'm jumping in. I've JUST begun, but I'm not seeing anything about practicing or what to practice. Should I simply replay the lessons over and over again? I'm currently spending about 45-hour a day on these lessons but that will likely diminish when the school year starts up again in the fall - I do plan to retire after this year though, so I'll have much more time to myself in about a year. 

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
06/17/2023 8:30 pm

Welcome.

I am curious about your user name, would it be a hint as to Ace Frehley and Angus Young?

Anyway, Fundamentals is usually the best to start. Once through these it's an open field as to what to study and entirely user directed. 

If I am correct about your username you would benefit in taking a deeper dive into Ace and Angus once you have some basics down. Artist studies you won't find here. But there are many avenues open to us to pursue learning. 

For sometime now I have been seeing a private teacher focusing strictly on SRV, his influences and style of play.

Good luck and have fun with it.

edited

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
Blakeney8
Full Access
Blakeney8
Full Access
06/18/2023 7:53 am

Agree with Mr. MG. Get to know Fundamentals I and II like the back of your hand. You will have a solid foundation to take your music anywhere you want to go. I go back to Fundamentals II to brush up on a certain technique frequently. Good luck on your journey...

edited
# 3
LisaMcC
Guitar Tricks Instructor
LisaMcC
Guitar Tricks Instructor
06/18/2023 6:56 pm

Hi Ace,

Your practice schedule sounds great!

I recommend starting your session with something fun and easy, just to get the music in the room, and get your fingers and hands loosened up.