When to move to next lesson

sedevacante
Full Access
sedevacante
Full Access
12/26/2020 3:48 pm

Hello, I am pretty new to this.

I started with the beginner lessons. I am on Chapter 4 - the Five Chord Power Pack - with Lisa McCormick.

My questions is: How well should you be able to play the songs in these lessons before moving on to the next.

Should you be able to play it flawlessly several times in a row?

Should you be able to get through the song with only a few slip ups with the fingers?

I can get through the songs most of the time fine, but sometimes, my fingers do not hit the chords quite right - should I stay on the same song until i get through it without any mistakes several times in row - or should I get it down pretty good and move on to the next lesson?

Thanks,

Ken

# 1
moosehockey18
moosehockey18
12/26/2020 4:19 pm
Originally Posted by: sedevacante

Hello, I am pretty new to this.

I started with the beginner lessons. I am on Chapter 4 - the Five Chord Power Pack - with Lisa McCormick.

My questions is: How well should you be able to play the songs in these lessons before moving on to the next.

Should you be able to play it flawlessly several times in a row?

Hi Ken,

THere may be differing opinions on this but I`ll give you my 2 cents:

I look at the practice tune as sort of a final exam for that lesson. Sure, the goal each time is to " ace" it and play it perfectly but usually that`s not realistic. I aim to be able to play the tune fairly consistently at full speed with maybe a few minor slip ups but having a firm grasp of the concepts being taught in that lesson. If I can do that then I`m good to move on.