Skill Tightening Technique - How do I do this???

lavanish
lavanish
08/27/2020 4:58 am

Mike,

I have been playing guitar (1-4 hrs/day) since January of this year. Thanks to you and your coleaguees I have learned 19 songs all the way through from Shook Me All Night Long to Sweet Home Alabama, to Let Me Love You Baby, to Purple Rain.

Thank GOD for the looper function! That thing is a game changer!

My problem is, being a beginner, I can play the songs all the way through at full speed but they are pretty sloppy. By the time I get the song down where I can play all the notes by heart, etc., I can barely stand the song any more. I hear the difficult parts/note changes over and over in my head, walking down the street, while watching t.v., in my dreams, etc. I am having trouble finding the will power to continue working on these songs to perfection...I lose interest in them

Instead, I just move on to the next song and learn that one because it is something fresh and I have new found enthusiasm. So....now I can play (in sloppy fashion) almost 20 songs that I used to like and can now barely stand, although I suspect my love for them will come back someday.

Is this a good method? Will my skills eventually come together by learning many songs at a somewat superficial skill level or do I need to go back over my previous songs and force myself to nail them down better before moving on?

I'm seceretly hoping that if I just keep learning songs like this, I'll slowly get better as I learn them and someday I'll be able to go back to my original songs and play them at a high level without torturing myself by playing them over, and over, and over, etc.

Love the lessons from you by the way! This site has SERIOUSLY been a salvation for me duing these tough times. You all have given me countless hours of therapy.

Thank you so much!

Mark.

# 1
Mike Olekshy
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Mike Olekshy
Guitar Tricks Instructor
08/27/2020 2:02 pm