Using GT for Most productive learning

nsarun
nsarun
06/16/2020 6:50 pm

Hello Mike!

Your lessons have indeed been most enjoyable, thanks so much for it. [br][br]

I have been using Guitar Tricks for an year now. I was a beginner......and today I feel a lot more confident, musical and comfortable playing my guitar. That's from zero. The course layout the teachers the lessons have been helpful.

Guitar tricks have so much material and I seem lost and reached saturation point now. I want to improve my speed technique and musicality. I seem drawn to many paths.....Blues, Rock, Country, Classical and so on......I don't know what to do other than practice what I have been. Sometimes doing that gets boring.... these days I have switched over to songs.

Sometimes the lessons are long and slow and takes up most time listening to the teachers and little practice going along with them. I really like the teachers a don't get me wrong.

I would like some guidance and direction from the Guitar Guru such as yourself......how should I proceed......should I choose a single path (country, rock, blues etc)? Should I build my song practice list? Should I practice techniques, practices or a bit of all? To make my journey productive and enjoyable?

To be honest if I grade my skill levels they would be

Chords changing - B-

Strumming - B

Scales and picking - B-

Speed - C

Music Theory - A

Songs - Easy to Moderate

What's the best way to use Guitar Tricks? For the best results.....is my question.

# 1
Mike Olekshy
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Mike Olekshy
Guitar Tricks Instructor
06/17/2020 5:13 pm

Hello and thank you for the kind words!

First off - congrats on improving your playing and all that you have worked hard to learn! That is an awesome achievement, and now it is time to get focused on continuing your progress.

My advice would be this: