A first effort

imccowatt
imccowatt
03/03/2018 8:47 pm

One of my objectives coming to GT was gain some skills that'd help me write songs.

So - two and a half months in, here's a first effort. I'm just short of half way through "Rock Level 2" and have tried to apply some of the things I've picked up along the way. Spot the few bits of meat and potatoes!

https://www.dropbox.com/s/vftaeesm6v5a133/AdventuresInF%23m.mp3?dl=0

It's still very much a work in progress - only got intro/bridge and verse/solo sections so far, but its coming together.

Notes:

- I'm a mixing novice, so plenty of room for improvement there

- I ***NEED*** to get a bass, pitch shifting sounds terrible

- No amount of Guitar Trickery will get me singing!

-Iain

# 1
JeffS65
JeffS65
03/04/2018 9:07 pm
Originally Posted by: imccowatt

One of my objectives coming to GT was gain some skills that'd help me write songs.

[br]So - two and a half months in, here's a first effort. I'm just short of half way through "Rock Level 2" and have tried to apply some of the things I've picked up along the way. Spot the few bits of meat and potatoes!

[br]https://www.dropbox.com/s/vftaeesm6v5a133/AdventuresInF%23m.mp3?dl=0

[br]It's still very much a work in progress - only got intro/bridge and verse/solo sections so far, but its coming together.

[br]Notes:

- I'm a mixing novice, so plenty of room for improvement there

- I ***NEED*** to get a bass, pitch shifting sounds terrible

- No amount of Guitar Trickery will get me singing!

Keep the heck at it! Well done. Given your limited experience, you've gained a lot of tools. A good habit is the development of themes, I hear this in your ditty. That's a lot of what makes a song; a recognizable theme.

It's good to hear yourself develop and listen to how you're building a song. Both for the good and bad.