Which Gibson?

ianrox
Full Access
ianrox
Full Access
02/01/2013 7:38 pm
O.K. everyone, I need some opinions on my next guitar. I've been playing for a couple years now; still struggling with all the mechanics of learning to play. I own a Squire strat and it's time for a Gibson. Originally I thought Les Paul, of course. Now I find myself leaning towards the ES models. Specifically the ES 335 or 339. I kind of like the versatility of the 339. Any thoughts?
# 1
maggior
maggior
02/02/2013 4:19 am
I went from a strat to a les paul faded studio. The lp sure can wail, but the strat has its place too. I realized that a single guitar can't satisfy all needs or situations. I like both giuitars for different reasons.
# 2
caponi14
caponi14
02/02/2013 10:05 am
Okay don't take this too personal. But in my oppinion i think it's too early for you to buy a Gibson. You say your only just learning the mechanics of playing?... But thats just my oppinion.

Second thought: A Les Paul is a great guitar. Really great guitar. People say it's not versatile like a stratocaster, but boy, oh boy that aint true.
If you can learn to master the tone and volume knobs on the Les Paul. Then your in for a really rocking and VERSATILE guitar.

But buy what you want, i just think it's too early for you.
# 3
JeffS65
JeffS65
02/02/2013 10:45 am
Here's my family: Click >>

My first guitar was a Gibson Les Paul Deluxe (had full sized humbuckers by the previous owners). I do disagree with Caponi about it being too early. They key to a Les Paul is which neck you prefer; a 50's rounded or a 60's slim taper? My hands ain't huge so I like the 60's slim taper.

As for which to choose, it's a question of flavor. Overall, most of the things you will do would be a nice overlap between the LP and the ES. Both will do the majority of playing nicely.

I break it down this way; if I am more rock focused, I'm leaning towards a Les Paul. If I am more jazz/blues focused, I am leaning towards the ES.