Saving new songs...

msula
msula
02/11/2002 5:58 am
Ok, I've been playing for about 5 or 6 years now.. and finally I'm coming up with a bunch of new material myself. Mostly acoustic. Anyway, sometimes I'll sit here for an hour and come up with maybe 10 different riffs or parts to potential songs. Now.. how do you guys remember all of this?!!? I don't have any fancy recording equipment, I wish I had just a basic 4-track and even record a whole session, I don't care, but I seem to forget most of the stuff I come up with the next day :(

So, how do you guys recomend going about this? Do you have digital recorders, 4-tracks.. etc? Or do you write the music down? I never think to write it down, I mean I'm playing and stuff just comes to me and I go with it.. no time to write it out. :(
# 1
lalimacefolle
lalimacefolle
02/11/2002 8:04 am
I have owned a 4 track when I turned 15. I hava recorded 2 albums worth of material with it. Now I record on my PC, and I have learnt to write music down...

Anyways, buy even a ****ty recorder, but keep your ideas somewhere...
# 2
Azrael
Gargoyle Instructor
Azrael
Gargoyle Instructor
02/11/2002 1:11 pm
I´ve discovered that a good way to remember all the ideas you have is to immediately put them into your computer as a midi-file. You don´t need much equippment for that - just powertab or Guitarpro or Cubase or whatever.

I always programm the stuffi develop on the guitar in - even if it is only a few notes - and save it in a "ideas" folder. and whith time you will have a large library of licks, riffs, melodies, etc where you can choose from when looking for song-material. The advantageof that is, that you just need to click on PLAY and you´ll immediately recall how you played it.

-=[Azrael]=-

[FONT=Times New Roman]Holiness is in right action and courage on behalf of those who cannot defend themselves. What you decide to do every day makes you a good person... or not.[/FONT][br][br]

# 3
msula
msula
02/11/2002 1:39 pm