bass players

solo bass man
solo bass man
05/03/2006 10:48 pm
im not new to playing an instrument, but i am new to playing the bass guitar. its a little awkward trying not to overplay or get too complicated. i still use a pick because its more comfortable. tapping and slapping are in development, but are there any other technique tips a fellow bass player might have. im brand new to playing in a band too, but its a blast and they are being patient with me developing technique. suggestions would be appreciated
Solo Bass Man

MySpace

My Band Space
# 1
Blues_Man
Blues_Man
05/03/2006 10:58 pm
Originally Posted by: solo bass manim not new to playing an instrument, but i am new to playing the bass guitar. its a little awkward trying not to overplay or get too complicated. i still use a pick because its more comfortable. tapping and slapping are in development, but are there any other technique tips a fellow bass player might have. im brand new to playing in a band too, but its a blast and they are being patient with me developing technique. suggestions would be appreciated

It's gonna make it super hard for you to slap and pop if you still use a pick. You could try doing arpeggios' but that's for more advanced players and I dont think you billy sheehan quite yet. The key word is not too OVER COMPLICATE your bass line! The bass USUALLY but not always, isn't the focus of the band. Your job is first and foremost keep good rhythm, play a simple root note, or 5th, 7th etc. and keep it simple so you dont get it the way of your other band mates. Once you get used to the basics and are more comfortable with a band type setting, then you can start adding a little extra flavor to your basslines with some slappin , arp's , or whatever you have in the works.
I am Comfortably Numb... :D

Oh yeah...STICK IT TO THE MAN!
# 2
acapella
acapella
05/04/2006 3:42 pm