View post (can B7 be a plain old note?)

View thread

VulcanCCIT
VulcanCCIT
06/25/2019 7:13 pm

Thank you all for your awesome advise!! No worries on edits of my origional post, rephrasing it, etc... I get it... I played Clarinet all through Grade School and High School, I under stand notes, I understand the clefs, I even understand chords, and how they all build on seceral other notes to create the harmonic. I am also a broadcast engineer and deal with harmonics in the electronic world lol. I also know sharps, flats, accidentals, naturals and all of that as I am also learning piano and learned this on Clarinet.

I am about to tackle chords on the piano as well. Clarinets do not do chords lol but I can play by ear on clarinet and piano, as well as by reading sheet music... so I just was trying to shortcut that particular song by just fretting the melody and try to just get a better feel for playing the guitar as a whole. I am on the the beginner Lisa courses... I know I think 6 of the "simple" chords. [br][br]I think after the excersise of this thread and the explinations (which I found TOTALLY VALUABLE BY ALL OF YOU no matter how you phrased it), is that I just need to learn the fret board. On piano, I know where middle C is, I know how to do the scales, I know how to play a flat or a sharp depending on the key, knowing that oh yes, it is a flat in one key but a sharp in another, I know the naturals and when to play them.

On Piano, I just have not yet learned chords, that is in a few lessons up the road on the app I am using to learn...

but Guitar, I just have not taken the time to learn the fret board... I know the open strings are

EADGBE

I just have not learned how and where the rest of the notes are, how to do a sharp and a flat, and learning the relationship of the frets, the strings and the notes (flats, sharps, etc) that can be obtained, let alone using a capo to totoally change it up lol