Hey, I'm new to guitar, who's out there?

itsmeherandhim
itsmeherandhim
08/11/2011 7:20 pm
Hey, anyone, I'm new to guitar and I have questions. I started watching guitar fundamentals 1, and Chris recommended having a strap button instead of having the end of the strap connected to a string that is tied around just above the nut. I suppose I could have a second strap button installed at the appropriate spot at the top of the body, no? I dont know how expensive it is to have it done, and I'm not going to pretend I know what I'm doing to try and install it myself. Does the average guitar shop do it, and for how much? Would I have to leave my instrament and pick it up another day, or can they usually do it while you wait?
# 1
billcass
billcass
08/12/2011 1:23 am
I'm new here too, been here just over a month and bought a year up front. Going OK, about half way through fundamentals-2, just need alot, ALOT more practicing!!! :-)
# 2
guitargeorge50
Bobby Howe
guitargeorge50
Bobby Howe
08/12/2011 4:28 pm
Hi,

Yes, a reputable guitar shop with a competent guitar repairman can install a strap button, in most cases while you wait but it certainly shouldn't take more than a day or two and I wouldn't expect it to cost more than about $25, max. If the guitar shop says it has to send the guitar away to another shop, ask where that shop is and simply drive there if it's in your area. I would not expect the cost to be significantly more than $25. If either of these things is a problem, go to another guitar shop.

[U]Acoustic or Hollow Body Guitar[/U]