Recording tutorial / recommendations on setup

gilouch0
gilouch0
11/04/2018 5:37 am

Hi everyone

First, just wondering if there is any resource, section of this website dedicated to recording / home studio ... ?

If there is no section, what do you guys recommend me ?

here is my potential setup :

Using an audio interface like focusrite 2i2 to either direct input my guitar in 1/4" jack or using a microphone like shure sm57 in front of the amp so I can still use all my effects from my boss katana and my additional pedals.

Maybe it is better to record the guitar signal clean straight jack to audio interface and apply fx in post?

what are your thoughts on all this? I am really new to this, wishing I could get some info but couldn't find any on the website. I am totally new to it, not sure about my choices for neither the audio interface, the mic, the setup, ...

thank you!

# 1
fuzzb0x
Full Access
fuzzb0x
Full Access
11/04/2018 8:55 am

I think the Boss katana amps have a recording output on them so you could use that straight into your audio interface instead of micing up the amp.

Adding effects post recording gives more flexibility to make changes at a later date than recording with the effects in place.

What DAW are you going to be using? There's a lot of tutorials on YouTube for the most popular DAW's out there, I use Reaper myself and if I've ever been stuck YouTube has always had the answer so far.

If you plan to do a lot of guitar based recording it may be worth you looking into guitar cabinet Impulse Responses too as they can be very useful in getting the right guitar tone in a mix.

# 2
manXcat
manXcat
11/04/2018 10:06 am