My first time playing with other musicians

Blakeney8
Full Access
Blakeney8
Full Access
03/24/2022 12:41 am

I have been playing seriously now for 2 years. I would consider myself as between an advanced beginner and a early intermediate player. I have never played with other musicians but have been asked to join an informal jam at a local small town msic store for a long time now. I finally accepted and while they know I am not a great player, they are very encouraging for me to come. Most of the players are either working musicians or former professionals. We are all in our 50's and 60's so we have a lot of music in common. I am very anxious as the afternoon of our jam session is next week. Scared to death more like it. Any advice to not completely have a breakdown will be greatly appreciated.

# 1
aliasmaximus
aliasmaximus
03/24/2022 3:00 am

Hey Blakeney, I can certainly sympathize with your anxiety about jamming for the first time with guitarists who will probably be doing alot of improvisation. Unless you've been practicing improvisation with riffs and licks, and know the notes and chords belonging to specific keys, you're not going to be able to do what they do. However, if you do go (even if you just sit in and ask questions the first time) I'm sure they will set you up with a few chords in the relavent key and have you just play those in an improvised manner.

Hanging and jamming with musicians more skilled than youself is a great way to supercharge your learning... a lot. Most guitarist want nothing more that to be able to share their guitar wisdom with others. They'll probably set upon you like a pack of musical hyenas in a teaching frenzy.

Do it! I very much doubt that you'll regret it.

Nicolai

# 2
snojones
Full Access
snojones
Full Access
03/24/2022 1:38 pm

First of all, congradulations on finding people to play with! That is a real advantage that seems to be a lot harder to do than it used to be. Seriously... way to go!