Playing Back in Black

snpfarm
snpfarm
10/11/2021 3:57 pm

I was reading another post regarding learning to play Back in Black (BiB). That made me think of a Back in Black question as well. I didn't want to hijack his thread by asking my question. Once upon a time I started learning BiB. I know that both Angus and Malcom Young are/were both 5'2" tall. They must have really long fingers to be able play some of there licks. I'm 5'8" with hands prortional to my stature. I can barely put my index finger on a fret, skip a fret, and get my pinky to the 2nd fret down from the one my index finger is on. Mush less skipping 5 or 6 fretts like in the intro to BiB. I'll try to make a tab below. I dont think they ever lift off the second fret of the 5th string while hitting the notes on the 6th string. If anyone knows a work around I'm all ears.

A -----2-------2-------2-------2--------

E ---------4-------5--------6-------7-----

This trying to get my left hand and right hand to work together is driving me crazy!

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
10/11/2021 5:54 pm

Don't try keeping your finger pinned on the A string. You have to have lots of flexibility for that. The tempos not so high that you can't switch your finger on and off the A and still keep time. Just takes practice.

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
snpfarm
snpfarm
10/11/2021 6:35 pm
Originally Posted by: William MG

Don't try keeping your finger pinned on the A string. You have to have lots of flexibility for that. The tempos not so high that you can't switch your finger on and off the A and still keep time. Just takes practice.

Yep, thats the way I have to play it. I saw a tutorial video a while back and the guy doing the video could could actually keep his index finger on the A-string and hit the notes on the B-string with out ever moving his index finger. He had some long fingers for sure.

This trying to get my left hand and right hand to work together is driving me crazy!