2 year anniversary - 1 newbie student to another

William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
01/01/2021 1:49 pm

Today is Jan 1 2021 and I officially start my 3rd year of guitar study.

For all beginners, take heart in your efforts. Guitar can seem incredibly difficult and confusing, but things will make sense eventually if we practice regularly and continue to push for more information and build upon what we already know. I always chuckle when a light bulb goes off. I don't know why it is, but I can practice something over and over - getting nowhere - and then one day it just makes sense - Eureka! One day it seems like I will never get it and then all of sudden it's there. A wonderful feeling.

I wish all of you a Happy New Year and success in whatever endevour(s) you chose to pursue.

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 1
mjgodin
mjgodin
01/01/2021 4:06 pm

Happy New Year William.

I am now in my second year in guitar study. If I learn even half of what I did in the first it will be a tremendous accomplishment. I know exactly what you mean about the Eureka moments.

The thing I also discovered about learning guitar is it's a two phase effort. First phase is learning to play the guitar, duh , we all know how hard that is, and the second is trying to figure out what kind of guitar player I wanna be? Where do I wanna go with this? What style of music am I more adept at playing? I took on a lot last year, so this year I will start to focus in more specific areas and not spread myself too thin trying to absord everything. Thank you for some of the early advice you've given me when I started.

Anyway here is to another fun and exciting year with Guitar Tricks. To the other beginners old and young. Don't expect it to be quick and easy. There will be some fustrating moments for sure, but the rewards that come from it when you persevere through it are worth it.

Good Luck to everyone,

Moe

# 2
joe791
joe791
01/01/2021 6:58 pm