Luthier that can’t play... yet

madkrafter
madkrafter
06/07/2020 2:10 pm

Many of my friends are guitar players. I've tried to learn over the years - since college (I turned 50 last month). Playing has never stuck. I have been a woodworker all my life and in 2003 decided to make an acoustic guitar from scratch. I was hooked.

Since then, I've built five acoustics and seven electrics. Many were built for friends but I still own three electrics - Tele style, LP style and a custom with a HSH configuration. I also have my first acoustic and latest acoustic that I finished last September. [br][br]

My quarantine project has been a point-to-point wired 1965 Fender Deluxe Reverb amp build. Parts sourced from the best suppliers. My own custom build-your-own-amp kit. I also own a Line 6 AmpliFi and Groove Tubes Soul-o 75. What can I say, I have GAS!

But I still can't play. I have finally decided to change that. I don't learn well on my own and need structure and a clear path. I just started with Guitar Tricks and admittedly know the basics of guitar anatomy and construction. It's time to learn how to play!

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
06/07/2020 5:06 pm

Welcome and good luck.

That amp project sounds very interesting, I am a fan of Uncle Doug and have watched many of his videos.

We'd all be interested in seeing your guitars as well, if you are able to share pics.

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
alamogeorge
alamogeorge
06/08/2020 11:21 pm

Apparantly that's not all that uncommon. When I was stationed in Spain, I got to visit the workshop of a flamenco guitar maker. He said that he never learned because he spent all of his time making them. He always had other people test them out for him.

I just turned 50, as well, in April.

# 3
madkrafter
madkrafter
06/10/2020 1:38 pm