View post (The Old Folks' Beginners Thread)

View thread

rslater67230
rslater67230
04/12/2020 12:53 pm

Although I just turned 70 (love my life, but HATE that number), as a part of my "shelter in place" regimen I have picked up my Breedlove acoustic Lefty that has been in a case in the closet for 10 years. Didn't even get to basic cords back then as life seemed to get in the way (more likely an excuse than a reaon). Since then I have retired (failed at that too as I am working full time for a friend who is general manager of an aerosapce firm here in Wichita), gotten a pacemaker after no surgeries or health problems since I was 8, was diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes, and learned to love bicycling and rode 512 miles in the Bike across Kansas last year. I am a "slay the dragon" type of guy and love reaching goals - but the guitar is a big one. I was a drummer in my youth and was quite good- I can relate to that as requiring a lot of practice to master the rudiments, then it all comes together. Or, when I first learned to snow ski - fought it, fought it, fought it - then a little light came on, [u]relaxed[/u] and it was fun from then on.

This course is perfect for me - I am not in a hurry to get to the end and am willing so far to practice what Lisa is peraching until I can get a "little" comfort zone before moving forward. Coincidentally, I am watching the "Sopranos" seasons during my time at home, one episode per day. This is crazy (as am I), but Lisa has a very similar voice, pace and dialect to Dr. Melfi, Tony's psychiatrist in the show. I somehow find that reassuring in her simple, measured approach and for me it is helpful. Go figure. ("Bada-bing")