Guitar picking

rabbit
rabbit
07/12/2001 4:55 am
Hi guys hope you can help. I've been playing for a couple of years and have tried different picks but I need advice on using the right one. I play both rhythm and lead, in the metal style (speedy power chords and licks). I'm alright playing leads but when it comes to rhythm, it sucks. I've tried dunlop Jazz III's, which are great for leads, and medium and heavy Dunlop tortex's. when I try fast rhythm playing the pick catches on the strings. When I try a medium guage it strums better but seems too light for heavy rhythm work, and also not so good for leads. Any ideas on what picks would be good for both speedy leads and heavy rhythm work. Or is there a killer technique i don't know of??
The first time I played sober was because I just forgot to drink. 'Damn' I thought...'I'm playing better.' James Hetfield
# 1
emmanuel79
emmanuel79
07/19/2001 7:58 am
perhaps this may notsound useful but I just give you some tips or maybe advice. I've been playing the guitar for 10 years and I have used several picks. there are may kinds of pick in terms of brand and materials. Some made of plastics, some made of alluminium or steel, some made of rubber which is not 100%. For me name of picks does not concern as sizes and the materials are.

1. Either you play rythm, lead or plucking, CONMFORTABLE comes first. Comfort may vary as you may feel what kind of material do you feel comfortable when you play lead or rythm and which sizes comforts you when you play lead or rythm.

2. If you use to play metal, it is better to use any small size pick not the medium.

3. Any sizes and shapes and materials require the RIGHT position of holding the picks as well as your picking technique.